Our Journey to spread smiles : The Story Of 1000smiles ..

From teenage days I felt that I wanted to do something for the less privileged sections of the society, this idea remained in the thinking phase for a long time and during my college life it motivated me to be part of National Service Scheme (NSS) where I volunteered to teach kids in a govt. primary school.

After I passed out of college and got settled with a job in Bangalore, for a while I dint know what to do with the new found financial freedom and entirely free weekends. For a long time I spend my weekends watching movies travelling and having fancy dinners at costly restaurants. I felt like I deserve some luxury that money can buy for all the hard work I do from Monday to Friday. Two years flew like this and I started realizing that I am missing something in life. A lot of different thought processes started in my head and I understood I need to change my attitude towards money and time.

Instead of looking for what luxury money can buy for me I started thinking what necessities money can buy for the under privileged sections of the society. I started looking out for opportunities to use my money and time to help others.

When you really want something the whole universe conspires in helping you achieve it”. This quote from Paulo Coelho’s Alchemist got true in my life and I found a group of friends who have the same ideas and work as a Youth Organization named 1000smiles.I joined them, we go to Orphanages and Old age homes in and around Bangalore on alternate weekends spend time with the inmates talk to them, play with them and sometimes we do singing dancing quiz programs etc. We try to provide them with basic necessities like food, clothes, stationery etc. to the best of our abilities.

We are now a registered NGO, our motto is to “Spread smiles across miles”, like in every journey, we took the first step, we get confused at cross roads and stumble on our way but we are trying to find different ways to help people and make our work more sustainable.”Give a man a fish you feed him for a day, Teach a man to fish you feed him for a life time” this quote is inspiring us to work towards providing education to the kids in these orphanages, we are taking baby steps in this direction right now.

1000smiles experience helped me transform my attitude towards life and its purpose, Life is not just about your happiness it is more about what  you can do to  make another person happy  this is what I learnt so far. I stopped taking things for granted instead started to realize my blessings and am trying to share those with the ones who weren’t given the opportunities I got in life.

1000smiles-2 copy                                                                                                                                 By Elsa Jose

 

Leave a Reply

